Mark Evans Wins GPS Grand Final

Mark Evans Wins GPS Grand Final

Monday, 15 December 2014

Mark Evans has been crowned Genting Poker Series Grand Final winner after topping a 255-runner field in Sheffield over the weekend.

The final day got underway on Sunday and as the betting began it was Dahe Liu leading the way. As the final session rolled on and the likes of Ben Jackson, defending champion Richard Milner and Richard Hawes hit the rail, Liu was able to maintain his position at the top of the chip counts moving into the finale.

However, Liu's lead at the top slowly began to ebb away as the champion's trophy moved ever closer. Indeed, after Guy Taylor became the first casualty of the final table, Liu surrendered his lead as Tom Langley took charge.

Langley's lead was enough to carry him into the latter stages of the event, but as the dinner break came and went it was Mark Evans that went into beast mode. After doubling his stack courtesy of former chip leader Liu, the British veteran began to dominate the final four.

After watching Langley eliminate Will Kassouf in fourth place, Evans pushed Liu to the rail before turning his attention to Langley. With a 3:1 chip lead and a wave of momentum on his side, it didn't take long for Evans to claim his first GPS title.

In fact, within 45 minutes the match was over after Evans' J-9 connected with the J, 9, 3, 3, 8 board to overcome Langley's J-7. With the final hand over and Langley watching from the rail, an ecstatic Evans raised his hands in celebration as the as the final GPS champion of 2014.

Genting Poker Series Grand Final Result

1st - £54,060 - Mark Evans
2nd - £36,720 - Tom Langley
3rd - £24,480 - Dahe Liu
4th - £14,680 - Will Kassouf
5th - £11,520 - Jamie O’Connor
6th - £8,970 - Yucel Eminoglu
7th - £6,930 - Dom Mahoney
8th - £5,400 - James Conway
9th - £3,870 - Guy Taylor

Tags: Mark Evans, Genting Poker Series