Jason Mercier Triumphs

Jason Mercier Triumphs

Wednesday, 19 August 2015

Jason Mercier has earned his second poker title of the year following a win in the $25,400 buy-in Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open (SHRPO) High Roller event.

After lining up against some of the finest grinders in the world to compete for a prize pool of at least $1 million, Mercier was able to come through the event with flying colours and pick up a first place prize worth $652,800.

Overall, the event garnered 83 entries to push its guarantee well beyond expectations to $2 million. That bounty meant the top six finishers would bank at least $116,600 and as the action unfolded it was clear the leading players were intent on banking a piece of the pie.

Joining Mercier at the final table was a slew of recognisable faces including Phil Laak, David Sands and David Peters but it was the PokerStars pro that dominated in the latter stages. Entering the final table with a healthy chip stack, Mercier was able to contribute to the demise of his closest rivals such as Laak and Peters before focusing his attention on Ian O'Hara.

Despite having the more impressive résumé, Mercier didn't take O'Hara lightly and that resulted in a back-and-forth match. Eventually, however, it was Mercier who came out on top to scoop his second title of 2015 and another impressive cash haul to add to his over $15 million bankroll.

Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open High Roller Result:

1. Jason Mercier - $652,800

2. Ian O’Hara - $391,700

3. Sean Winter - $245,500

4. Ankush Mandavia - $186,200

5. Barry Hutter - $141,900

6. David Sands - $116,600

7. Ashwin Sarin - $93,400

8. Phil Laak - $74,400

9. David Peters - $57,500

Tags: Jason Mercier, Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open, SHRPO, Phil Laak, David Peters, PokerStars, Ankush Mandavia, David Sands, Ashwin Sarin, Ian O’Hara, Sean Winter, Barry Hutter