Dominink Nitsche wins first 2014 WSOP Bracelet

Dominink Nitsche wins first 2014 WSOP Bracelet

Sunday, 25 May 2014

The 2014 World Series of Poker may not start until later this week but the first bracelet has already been awarded with Dominik Nitsche winning the National Circuit Championship.

The German pocketed a first prize of $352,800 and took possession of his second WSOP bracelet after outlasting a 126-runner field at Bally's in Atlantic City.

100 qualifiers chasing a guaranteed prize pool of $1m put up by the WSOP were joined by 26 players who paid a $10,000 buy-in. Nitsche was one of the latter, and his five-figure investment turned into a wise one after defeating a high class final table.

Hopes were high for British success with the 2013 WSOP $50,000 Players Championship winner Matt Ashton the chip leader heading into the final day.

Ashton's challenge faltered in third when Nitsche hit running spades for a flush to beat Ashton pocket 3s.

31 hands later and Nitsche had the title, coming from behind with A8 to beat Athanasios Polychronopoulos A10.

1st: Dominic Nitsche - $352,800?
2nd: Athanasios Polychronopoulos - $218,056
?3rd: Matthew Ashton - $157,399?
4th: Christopher Bibb - $115,655?
5th: Tracy Doss - $86,461
?6th: Andrew Robinson - $65,734
?7th: Ylon Schwartz - $50,816
?8th: Jeffrey Gunnip - $39,917?
9th: Sean Lippel - $31,865

Tags: Dominik Nitsche, Matt Ashton, WSOP 2014